I have a creatinine level of 1.5 mg/dl which I am told is high. I also have a potassium level of 4.7 mmol/L that I am told is high, but when I look at the Kidney Foundation ranges for potassium I am within the normal range. I am confused. Why are the ranges different for different labs and should I be worried? I am a white male, 64, 7 months post bone marrow transplant and doing excellent per my doctor. No diabetes or high blood pressure. I have resumed medium stress exercises (small hand weights, walking, etc).

A normal potassium level is generally 3.5 to 5.5 milliequivalents per liter (mEq/L).  Some laboratories use different ranges for normal but I consider the above noted ranges to be normal.  The creatinine level is mildly elevated, however, I would review this with your physician as this may be satisfactory for you.  You may have early stage chronic kidney disease based on your history.  You can calculate your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) by using the equations on our web site.  You can access these equations at:  https://www.kidney.org/professionals/KDOQI/gfr_calculator

I suggest that you review your concerns with your physician.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR. Bookmark the permalink.