I use Ultrafiltration Profile 2 and Sodium Modeling. I have used this for 8+ years and now a nurse is telling me it is not meant to be used for every treatment. Is this true and where can I read about it. Another nurse told me to use this profile because dialysis was causing my blood pressure to go extremely high and the UF Profile corrected this. (I gain 1- 3 kilos between treatments) My other question is that I went through a period that even though my dialysis machine showed I was on UF Profile 2 it did not act as it did in the past for about 6 months and then suddenly started to work as it had before. I asked the biomedical person can the programed UF Profile be altered and he said no. I had read that sodium can be added to the dialysate (hypertonic solution) but a nurse recently told me this is not used anymore. Do you know what would cause the UF Profile 2 to work, not work and work again.

I am not familiar with the term “Ultrafiltration Profile 2”.  I assume that this must be a setting on your dialysis machine that allows for a variable amount of fluid removal over time.  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with the nephrologist who is ordering this treatment and supervising your dialysis care.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.