I was diagnosed with CKD stage 3 about a year ago. I have been HIV for 35 years and had HEP C for as long (recently cured that on harvoni), and am quite concerned about my kidneys, as I know there is no cure for CKD. I started following a rigid kidney diet, and lost 12 pounds in the first month. Mind you, I weighed 102 when I started the diet. So all my doctors told me to eat for weight gain, which I have. That diet consists of fattening things such as sugar, meats etc. My question to you is this….what illness trumps the other?

Weight loss is very concerning in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  Malnutrition can be a very poor prognostic sign in patients with CKD.  I suggest that you consult with a dietitian who is familiar with CKD and can examine you and your laboratory tests to see what diet would be most helpful in your particular situation.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.