My kidney function 47.2 on CKD-EPI. My doctor said it was third stage. My question is this: could this be because I was dehydrated. If so how long, or am I thinking wrong? Would another blood test like seven days down the road show a good result? He says no but I wonder. What would say about it. I am 1700 hundred miles from home and I do not know what to do. Should I go home or is there something else I could do?

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  I cannot tell if this is chronic kidney disease (CKD) or acute kidney injury.  A repeat test may show improvement if you are now well hydrated and are feeling better.  I suggest that you follow your physician’s advice and continue to follow the testing of your kidney function very carefully.

 

This entry was posted in Acute Kidney Injury, Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.