Sir, I am aged 67 years. I am diabetic since 34 years. I am having BP since 20 years. I am on insulin & my BP and sugar level is under control. During Dec 2015 I went for regular check up and during check up it was revealed that my creatinine was 1.6. Doctor informed that nearly 50% of my kidney is damaged and advised me to be on medicines. I am following the doctors advice. Till this day creatinne level is the same. My question is that weather damaged kidney can be cured?

It is not usually possible to reversed chronic kidney damage once it has occurred.  The goal of treatment is to slow the loss of kidney function and not necessarily to reverse the damage.  Damage that occurs in chronic kidney disease (CKD) is not often reversible.  I suggest that you continue to follow your physician’s advice.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.