Daily Archives: March 2, 2017

In the last 3 years, my GFR has dropped from 114 to 81 with a creatinine increase from 0.6 to 0.8. I understand my numbers are within normal ranges but are these changes indicative of early stage CKD? In 2013, a protein electrophoresis, 24 hr urine and immunofixation gave unusual results. Albumin level was high and the interpretation of results noted “pattern consistent with mixed glomerular and tubular proteinuria.” This test has not been repeated since 2013. I have the diagnoses of medullary sponge kidney and nephrocalcinosis but have been told these conditions don’t result in changes of kidney function. GFR and creatinine numbers come from periodic CMP ordered by my current primary care physician and the electrophoresis was ordered by my previous primary care physician when I lived in a different state. I’m not seeing a nephrologist so my GFR numbers aren’t being monitored. Should I start seeing a nephrologist?

Medullary sponge kidney (MSK) and nephrocalcinosis can cause chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with your new primary care physician (PCP).  You can read more about MSK and nephrocalcinosis on our web site at:  https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/medullary-sponge-kidney … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist

I am looking for a dietician who can create a meal plan for me to follow. I cannot grasp the concept of creating one myself. Where can I find a reasonably priced renal dietician?

There should be registered dietitians in your area and the best way to access them is to discuss this with your physician and seek a referral to a dietitian who could review your current diet and make suggestions.  Your primary … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition

Dr. Spry, I’m having trouble finding clinical trials treatments and clinical trial medications for CKD. And my nephrologist isn’t helping me. Can you please list some clinical trial treatments and clinical trial medications currently being used for CKD?

There is a web site that lists clinical trials that are available for patients with many different diseases including chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I suggest that you explore the web site at:  https://www.clinicaltrials.gov/ You can type in the trials you … Continue reading

Posted in Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions

My Mother is CKD Stage-V patient and is on dialysis for the last 2 & half years. She takes very less quantity of food and on medication as per the Doctor’s advice. She is on dialysis weekly twice and over a period of 2 & half years, her weight reduced from 74 Kgs. to 55 Kgs. Recently, I observed that she is frequently experiencing lose motion problem. Day time (lunch) she takes only one / two cups of rice with 1 cup of vegetables & a small cup of buttermilk. In the night (dinner) if she feels well, then she takes 1 or two chapati or Idli (2 Nos.) with chutny or 1 or two Dosas with less oil. In case she is not feeling well due to lose motions, only she takes one Idli with sugar, oral satchets & butter milk. My concern about my mother is — would you please advise suitable diet and remedial course of action / medicine for lose motions. My Mother’s age is 69 years. She is under Doctor’s advise. But for lose motion problem, he didn’t say any thing or giving any medicine. Kindly help me in this regard.

I am not able to provide medical advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  Your mother is having loose bowel motions (diarrhea) but I cannot make a specific diagnosis.  Hence, it is best that you address your concerns … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Failure, Symptoms and Side Effects

I was told by my kidney doctor that I have medullary sponge kidney and I am always in pain. I have changed my diet and have been taking the three new meds but every day when I wake up it feels like someone has to kick start my kidneys. Is it normal to feel this every day? Also I form stones very fast too.

Medullary Sponge Kidney (MSK) is a rare disorder of the kidney that is caused by small pockets forming on the kidney tubules and is often associated with excess calcium in the urine and also alterations in other constituents of the … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medullary Sponge Kidney, Treatments

My GFR was >60. I am having a laser lithotripsy next week. Do I have a damaged kidney?

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you provide.  I suggest that you consult with your physician about having specific kidney function tests.  An estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) of greater than 60 milliliters … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, GFR, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments

Was wondering if renal patients can take Spirulina and how much is a safe amount? FYI I have no renal function have been on dialysis for over 10 yrs now. Right now I’m doing nocturnal.

As far as I am aware, there have been no studies on the use of Spirulina in patients who are on dialysis.  I have no experience with the use of Spirulina in any patient.  Congratulations on using longer duration dialysis. … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Function, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments