I was told by my kidney doctor that I have medullary sponge kidney and I am always in pain. I have changed my diet and have been taking the three new meds but every day when I wake up it feels like someone has to kick start my kidneys. Is it normal to feel this every day? Also I form stones very fast too.

Medullary Sponge Kidney (MSK) is a rare disorder of the kidney that is caused by small pockets forming on the kidney tubules and is often associated with excess calcium in the urine and also alterations in other constituents of the urine.  It may cause recurrent stone disease.  Stone disease can associated with pain in the flank area.

There are web sites that offer information about MSK including our web site at:

https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/medullary-sponge-kidney

There is also the NIH web site at:  https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/kidney-disease/children/medullary-sponge-kidney

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medullary Sponge Kidney, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.