I have been diagnosed with IgA nephropathy and is in stage 3 CKD. My question is related to diet. I have observed from experience that if I follow a low protein diet, my egfr and creatinine seems to be in better level. When I increase food intake there is a decrease in egfr and increase in creatinine levels. My nephrologist insists not to worry about diet or protein at this stage. Is it better to take less food and be underweight or is it better to take enough food and worse the blood results?

I agree with your physician.  I am not a fan of low protein diets.  This can lead to malnutrition which can have other ill effects on your body.  I suggest that you follow a low salt DASH diet.  You can learn about the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

 

This entry was posted in Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, IgA Nephropathy/IgA Dominant Glomerulonephritis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.