In Feb. 2016, my albumin readings were 19mg/dl and my creatinine was .99mg/dl, the GFR 61ml/min/1.73M2. Feb 10, 2017 my readings were BUN 25mg/dl, creatinine 1.03mg/dl GFR 58ml/min/1.73. On Feb. 25, 2017 just 15 days later my readings are bun 18mg/dl, creatinine 1.16ml/dl, GFR 50ml/min/1.73. My family physician is taking me off my acid reflux med and ibuprofen. Then retest in 3 mos. Can my totals change so drasticly in such a short period of time? If this is a true deterioration, what time frame am I looking at until dialysis is an issue. Do you have any other suggestions I should do to try to slow down or reverse my progression besides the med changes? How should I calculate my water intake? I have been told it should be half my body weight and does that include other liquids? Scared and confused.

The information that you mention is within the normal variation of laboratory testing.  The serum creatinine can vary from day to day and just be normal laboratory variation.  I suggest that you continue to follow your doctors advice and get re-tested in three months off of ibuprofen. You should drink water if you are thirsty but I would not force water intake.  Your kidneys should be able to correct themselves while you are off of ibuprofen.  You should avoid all other non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID’s) such as Motrin, Advil, Aleve and Naproxen.

For more information on NSAID’S click here:

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.