I am a 71 yr. old female in good health. My eGFR has been in the low 50’s for a few yrs. My doctor has not said anything about it. Should I be concerned?

I suggest that you have testing of your urine for blood, protein and infection.  If this is normal, some elderly females can have a mildly low estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) and do not have chronic kidney disease (CKD).  As a result of aging, you lose about 1% kidney function each year beyond age 40, so your eGFR might be expected to be in the range of 65 to 70 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  If your kidney function is mildly low and your urine is normal, then you should discuss this with your physician.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.