I have stage 3 kidney disease (gfr 35). My orthopedic surgeon tells me I must take an antibiotic for any dental procedures, including cleanings, due to recent total knee replacement. He prescribed one dose of amoxicillin, one hour prior to my dental cleaning. The dose is quite high, 2000mg (500 mg capsules X 4). Can I safely take this dose without further jeopardizing my compromised kidneys?

Amoxicillin is generally safe for kidney disease as long as the dose is adjusted for your kidney disease.  The dose that you quote, 2000 milligrams, as a single dose is the standard recommendation for prevention of infections after dental treatment.  I would suggest that you discuss this with your physician to make sure that amoxicillin does not complicate any other medications or treatment that you are receiving.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.