Good afternoon. I am retired military and my GFR is currently 64 and has been as low as 55. I saw a special on CBS about prolonged use of Prilosec and Kidney failure, I have been on Prilosec for over 10 years. I am concerned but my doctor says I have nothing to worry about. Should I seek another opinion?

The use of Proton Pump Inhibitors (PPI’s) such as Omeprazole (Prilosec and others) has been associated with chronic kidney disease (CKD) in large groups of individuals.  This is known as epidemiological research.  Unfortunately, epidemiological research such as this cannot prove that PPI’s cause CKD.  It is only an association.  You should bring up your concerns with your physician.  There are many people who use PPI’s for prolonged periods of time and do not get CKD.  Hence, it is best if you discuss your concerns with your physician, who knows your complete medical history and knows all of the medical problems that you may have.  You and your physician must then weigh the risks of using these drugs with your particular problems and determine whether there are other alternatives in your particular situation.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Function, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.