Hello Dr. I am sitting here at our local imaging office just down stairs from my cardiologist for a CT scan with the dye so they can examine both my Coronary Arteries. The CT has been cancelled for now because my kidney function is too low. It’s at 30 and they won’t test under 40. I’m 46 year old woman born with heart defect (regurgitation). No Doctor has wanted to repair it. Most don’t even believe me. They say I’m too young for heart disease. In 2016, within 4 months, I suffered 2 TIA strokes. My question is, because I was already born with the 2 issues, which I just found out affect each other, would that affect my kidney function and is this a sign I’m only gonna get worse?

Heart disease and kidney disease commonly exist together in the same person.  Heart disease makes kidney disease worse and kidney disease makes heart disease worse.  I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  I suggest that you consult with your physician about your particular situation.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.