I recently had blood test taken. The results showed the following: NA sodium 146 K potassium. 4.3 Chloride chl. 108 Glucose glu. 81 CO2 CO2. 26.0 BUN. 27 Creat Creat. 1.0 Albumin. 3.9 Tbilisi total bilirubin. 0.5 Ca calcium. 9.5 Alk. 97 Tp. total protein. 6.9 Ast ast. 23 Alt. 21 GFR calculation. 56 I am concerned about the BUN and GFR numbers. My doctor did not indicate any concerns, but I wondered if I should be concerned. I am female and 63 years old.

I would suggest that you also have urine testing for blood, protein and infection.  Once this test is done, then you should discuss this with your physician.  I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  The estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) is slightly low and this could indicate chronic kidney disease (CKD) Stage 3, if this has been abnormal for more than 3 months.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor. Bookmark the permalink.