Dear Dr. Spry, I am 31 years old. I am a man. I have glomerulonephritis and FSGS for 7 years. Now I take my medicine (Neoral sandimmun 4*25, Prednol 4mg/ day, Olmetec 20mg/day, Drisentin1*1) regularly but last 6 months I had problem with edema around my ankle. Besides edema I have muscle weakness and tiredness. I can’t move as I want to do. I am doing sport but It effects me very much. I can not go on long. I want to ask you how long I should take this kind of treatment? Is there any other treatments for this disease? I am desperate about my future.

Focal segmental glomerulosclerosis (FSGS) is a very difficult disease to treat.  In many cases, the disease is not cured but rather controlled.  If you have concerns about your treatment, this should be discussed with your nephrologist.  I am unable to recommend treatment without performing a complete history and physical examination.   I suggest you consult with your nephrologist.

For more information on FSGS click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, FSGS, Glomerulonephritis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Function, Nephrologist, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.