I am a 51 yr. old woman. They say I have stage 5 kidney disease. I urinate 1,300 to 1,500no per day. When I started dialysis, I felt better, but now I feel very sick. I’ll get on the machine, blood pressure is at 137/75. An hour or two in, my blood pressure is 179/92. They prescribed more high blood pressure meds. I would always feel like I was on fire inside my body. Legs cramping while sleeping,(Charlie horse), blurred vision, dried mouth, numbness in legs, hand stiffness and when I urinate it hurts. Now I have crackling when I breath. I feel bloated. Muscle pain. Joint pain. Weakness. I tell my team but they say I’m not getting enough dialysis and prescribe more meds. I think they forget that I still urinate normally. Someone has to take under consideration that I still urinate. Please help me. I feel like I’m dying. They said I was suppose to feel better but I am worse. I think we need to reevaluate my situation.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you provide. I do agree with you, that you need to be re-evaluated.  I suggest that you ask to meet with your nephrologist and you may have to make a special appointment to visit with him or her in their office to discuss your concerns.  I believe there may need to be changes made in your dialysis prescription.  I suggest that you ask for such a meeting.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Function, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.