I was told that I had 30% of my kidney function remaining. I am a 76 year old male stroke victim (05/13/2007). A recent blood test showed my Creatinine Serum was 1.44 mg/dl, which I also calculated at 37. I will see a doctor on June 2, do I need to worry? I am also a diabetic with a fib.

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) is very common in patients with high blood pressure, stroke and diabetes.  Any one of these diseases can be a cause for the CKD.  It is important that both your blood pressure and your diabetes be well controlled in order for your CKD to be properly managed.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.