Daily Archives: April 3, 2017

In both kidneys, mild increased cortical echogenicity with nephropathy. What it mean?

The report likely comes from a ultrasound examination of the kidneys. The quotation that you provide suggests that there is scarring of the kidneys but does not state why this may be occurring.  I suggest that you discuss this with … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrotic Syndrome, Treatments

Hello Sir, I am from India. My mother is a hemodialysis patient since last 17 years. From last few weeks, she is suffering from breathing problem too much, like she is not able to breath properly and at bedtime, she is sometimes unconscious behaving abnormal activities. Fistula is on her left hand but her doctor suggest to use right hand for receiving the blood. If so happened then her dependency increases on others. Right now she is not so much dependent on others. Can you please suggest what we have to do for her health improvement?

I am not able to provide a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  Your mother may become much more dependent on caregivers as her disease progresses.  I can only suggest that you discuss your concerns with the … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Treatments

My mother was recently placed on dialysis; she has a few other heath condiction such as COPD and heart disease and used to suffer from high blood pressure (now her pressure is too low). With that being said she is currently in the hospital experiencing issues with low blood pressure with higher heart rates. Her cardiologist placed a third stent in her heart on Tuesday and she has been in CCU since. My question and concern is during her last dialysis session which was yesterday, the first nurse had her in a seated position on the bed, however the 2nd nurse that come in for the last hour and a half changed her position. This position had her lying back with her legs raised higher than her head. Is that a standard or correct position to place a person in while receive a dialysis treatment. If the answer is yes, how could this benefits a person and improve treatment, however if the answer is no, how could this position effect the treatment outcome or affect the person receiving treatment in that position. Lastly could this of had a negative effect on her after just having the stent placed in heart. I ask because later that evening she experienced trouble breathing. If the 2nd nurse didn’t follow correct protocol for treatment of dialysis, what should my course of action at this point consist of? Thank you. Concerned daughter.

If someone has low blood pressure on dialysis, it is common to lower the head and raise the legs in order to maintain blood flow to the head and heart.  I am not able to comment on whether this was … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My kidneys are 75% scarred. Have there been any stem cell research on scarred kidneys ?

Stem cell research into the growth of kidneys is an ongoing area of research however, there are no treatments that are approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as of this time.  

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments

Dr. Spry, is there anything medical that can disqualify a CKD patient from having dialysis?

There are a number of reasons why someone may not be able to tolerate dialysis.  The most common reason is severe heart disease that make dialysis very difficult to perform.  In some cases, peritoneal dialysis can be considered for severe … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

Hello Doctor. My name is Helen. I am a 58 years old. I had a heart attack on June 16th 2016. I had 2 stents put in. I am on Ranitidine 150 MG, Aspiring low dose 81 MG, LISINOPRIL 5 MG, Atorvastatin 80 MG, Clopidogrel 75 MG, Amlodipine Besylate 2.5 MG. Plus Magnesium oxide tablets 400 MG. My daughter who is 40 years old was diagnosed with CKD and is now on dialysis. We decided to see if we matched for a kidney transplant. And we did match! A test to my heart called Myocardial Perfusion Imaging was done. A stress test to see if my heart was strong enough to undergo a transplant surgery. I want to help my child anyway I can. Can you please give me your medical opinion and advise on this situation.

I am unable to give medical advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  You can volunteer to be tested as a kidney donor, but the transplant center that has your daughter registered on the transplant list has the … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My friend is a 19 years old dialysis patient. She had started dialysis at the age of 14 and has been on dialysis for the last 5 years. She has growth failure. Can she reach puberty, have sexual intercourse or even have children?

Her ability to have children will be impaired.  She is able to have normal sexual intercourse, but her ability to achieve a successful pregnancy is markedly impaired on dialysis. Kidney transplantation could improve her ability to have children.  If she … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions

My Father report shows “Right kidney shows 2-3 small subcentimeter cortical cysts. Left kidney shows a cortical cyst 1.8 cm in size in the lower pole”. Please let me know is it serious? What could be the possible treatment? His age is 65 and he is diabetic and blood pressure.

Cysts of the kidney are almost always benign.  About 4 out of 10 people will develop simple cysts of the kidney as they age.  I would make sure that the radiologist has determined these cysts to be simple cysts (as … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Cysts, Kidney-Related Health Questions

My sister (62) has been on dialysis for about a year now. She is supposed to use the machine every night while she sleeps. However, it is causing her a lot of pain and she is doing it less and less now. She is unable to sleep at night with the machine running because of the pain. As a result, she either sleeps during the day or not at all. She has become very depressed She becomes very upset if any family members try to talk to her or offer to go with her to the doctor’s appt. Do your have any suggestions for us to try to get her back on track? Thank you so very much for your time and any advice you may have.

Your sister must discuss this with her physician and nephrologist.  It is my estimate that her nephrologist knows that she may not be doing her treatments because the amount of supplies that she is using for her home dialysis is … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Symptoms and Side Effects

I was diagnosed with IGA Nephropathy about seven years ago and did several rounds of chemotherapy and my IGA nephropathy has been in remission up until two years ago. My blood pressure spiked after I went through a house fire and loosing my mom a few months later . My GFR and creatinine have been fine up until I got a bad tooth infection. My GFR is now 57. It was over 60. I generally only get blood pressure spiked around my menstrual cycle. I’m on 5 mg of Lisinopril once daily to protect my kidneys and keep blood pressure in check. I was wondering if blood pressure and kidneys would be affected by starting a workout regimen. Lifting weights (light weights) and treadmill. Also my regular doctor said I could start on a meal replacement called isagenix and there are one to two days a week that you cleanse with a cleanse drink. Is this OK in your opinion?

Exercise and light weight lifting are excellent ways to maintain your overall health and your kidney health. I have no experience with the supplement that you mention and would not have an opinion about use of this substance. For more … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Exercise, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments