Hello Doctor. My name is Helen. I am a 58 years old. I had a heart attack on June 16th 2016. I had 2 stents put in. I am on Ranitidine 150 MG, Aspiring low dose 81 MG, LISINOPRIL 5 MG, Atorvastatin 80 MG, Clopidogrel 75 MG, Amlodipine Besylate 2.5 MG. Plus Magnesium oxide tablets 400 MG. My daughter who is 40 years old was diagnosed with CKD and is now on dialysis. We decided to see if we matched for a kidney transplant. And we did match! A test to my heart called Myocardial Perfusion Imaging was done. A stress test to see if my heart was strong enough to undergo a transplant surgery. I want to help my child anyway I can. Can you please give me your medical opinion and advise on this situation.

I am unable to give medical advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  You can volunteer to be tested as a kidney donor, but the transplant center that has your daughter registered on the transplant list has the last word in accepting you as a transplant donor. Heart disease is a serious problem and might make the surgical removal of your kidney for donation a substantial risk.  This has to be a decision made by the physicians at the transplant center.

For more information on living donation click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.