I have recently been diagnosed with stage 4 CKD. I have been researching the most effective diet and lifestyle to slow the progression of CKD. I’ve come across much conflicting information. So, I am asking you if you would recommend the books and websites you believe to be the most reliable. I so appreciate your kindness

For patients with Stage 3 chronic kidney disease (CKD), I commonly recommend the DASH diet.  However, with Stage 4 CKD (an estimated glomerular filtration rate or eGFR between 15 and 29 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared), diet will depend on reviewing your particular disease and reviewing your blood chemistry.  Hence, I would recommend that you consult with a dietitian who can review your medical situation and review your blood work and then recommend changes to your diet based on this review.

You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/Dash_Diet.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.