I have taken astragalus for my immune system and in lieu of flu shots for almost 20 years. Today I find it on the list of supplements to avoid if one has kidney disease. My creatinine level has been 150 to 170 for several years. I have been told there was no danger in taking the Astragalus. What are your thoughts?

I have no experience with Astralgus as a food supplement in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  In most cases, supplements and herbal agents are on lists of substances to avoid because they have not been tested in patients with CKD.  I am especially concerned about use of herbals in patients who have a kidney transplant.  In patients with mild CKD, this herbal may be safe in the general public but there is no scientific evidence in patients with CKD to rely on for safety.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Herbal Supplements in Kidney Disease/Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.