Daily Archives: April 4, 2017

Is it helpful for a CKD patient to have frequent urination or is it harmful?

As kidney function decreases, is may be that urination will increase as the kidney is no longer able to concentrate urine well, leading to more dilute urine that must be passed more frequently.  We commonly seen increasing passage of urine … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects

My friend (male) whose age is 42 yrs, height 6’6″, got his creatinine test a few days back on advice of Insurance Company. He got his creatinine level 3. I want to know that how serious is it, as the normal range is below 1? I also read that Creatinine level is also based on the height and size of a person. As he is very tall and having big body structure, does it matter? Please advice how serious it is and what should he eat?

The serum creatinine that you mention (3 milligrams per deciliter) is quite high and would not be the result of increased muscle mass or being a large person.  I suggest that your friend consult with his physician and be tested … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing

I live in southeast Asia, came home from America last May with a Parasite, and was treated at the local hospital with a wide variety of anti-biotics and finally an anti parasitic drug that killed the parasite. I had diarrhea for over a month and because of this underwent a series of blood test in which time they checked my kidneys and my creatinine level was at 1.67, I went and took an ultrasound and the doctor told me I had stones (very small) and the size of my kidneys were normal. They gave me some pills to take and off I went. I took a physical yesterday and my levels are still elevated 1.49, Bun was 14, AST at 53, and ALT at 45. I am a bodybuilder who used to take Danabol in pill form and use testosterone now and again because of my age (52) but 0 proteins in my urine. The hospital yesterday told me I have kidney disease if my levels are this high for that long, now I am kinda freaking. Reading a lot of blogs I am getting a lot of mixed messages. The Docs here in Thailand are not the same as the US. Any thoughts you can help me with?

Danazol and testosterone both can lead to increases in your muscle mass and this can raise your serum creatinine.  I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you provide.  I would suggest that you have … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects

My 91 year old mother had 2 UTIs in January. She saw a urologist in late February. He referred her to a nephrologist who diagnosed her with stage 3 kidney disease in March. We have seen a rapid decline in her cognitive function since the first UTI (3 month time period). Is there a correlation between kidney disease and cognitive function? We keep asking about dementia and additional tests that should be run. We are told by the SN facility that there is nothing more they can do and they have no explanation for her sudden onset dementia.

Dementia is common in the elderly and may be worsened by infections of any kind, including urinary tract infections (UTI’s).  Early stage chronic kidney disease (CKD Stage 3) should not be a cause of dementia.  I can only suggest that … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Urinary Tract Infection/Pyelonephritis, Urological Issues

Does lasix damage the kidneys?

Lasix (furosemide) is a diuretic medication and does not damage kidneys directly but may lead to dehydration that may decrease kidney function.  

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Function, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My wife’s test showed her Creatinine at 1.62 and her GFR at 30. Should we be concerned with these readings? Is these putting her close to dialysis?

This information would suggest Stage 3 chronic kidney disease (CKD) if these results have been present for at least 3 months.  This does not suggest a need for dialysis at the present time.  I suggest that you review these findings … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing