I am a 54 Caucasian female, 5’5″ with BMI 20. For the past few years, my GFR has been in the 70’s. my most recent GFR was 62. My most recent creatinine was 1.03. I have had microscopic for 10+ years, which I have attributed to multiple small stones in each kidney. I started having kidney stones at least 20 years ago. I have no known CKD risk favors. Question: Can having chronic small kidney stones influence GFR?

Chronic kidney stone disease is a risk factor for chronic kidney disease (CKD).  You may need to be evaluated by a nephrologist to determine the cause of your recurrent stone disease and see if the stones can be prevented.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.