All the proteins in the urine are normal. All serum proteins are normal, except creatinine. They do not test my urine any longer. Only my blood. I am a diabetic 2. If I take too much diuretic, my creatinine level goes up.

I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  Since you are a diabetic, you should have tests for kidney disease at least once per year.  This should include a blood test for serum creatinine so that you can calculate your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) and urine testing for protein.  You should follow your physician’s advice about treatment for any kidney disease.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.