I am a 55 year old white female. I have been on blood pressure meds, cholesterol meds, anxiety meds, and Nexium for approx 15+ years. I recently had a screening and discovered that my GFR is 54. I have started drinking more water, but I have to urinate constantly during the day and night. I have been having back pain over the past couple of weeks – not just lower back, but also mid & upper back along my spine. What tests do I need to have done to determine whether or not my back problems are stemming from my kidneys? Also, if the pain is coming from my kidneys, is there anything that can be done for that? I have an appointment with my primary care physician tomorrow – do I need to see a nephrologist right away?

Pain is not a common symptom related to kidney disease.  Stone disease and infection may present with pain but chronic kidney disease (CKD) is most commonly without symptoms.  The best test you can have is to be examined by your physician.  A history and physical examination is the best test to establish a diagnosis as to the cause of back pain. Your primary care physician (PCP) is the best trained to evaluate your back pain.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.