Daily Archives: April 14, 2017

I just read a question of the doctor implying pain and vomiting from kidney failure (I have been diagnosed with stage 3 CKD). I have no pain nor do I experience problems with indigestión. In fact, I feel mighty fine but I do not wish to spend my latter years in that lab in Guadalajara hooked to a machine four hours a day, four days a week after driving for three hours round-trip from Lake Chapala to save my sorry life at 75. Why do not I feel pain nor lethargy? I hope that as to a presumed life over a number of years but I am suspicious of false signals. What you say doctor?

Kidney disease most commonly has no symptoms until late in the course of disease for chronic kidney disease (CKD).  Stage 3 CKD is very early and rarely has any symptoms.  As CKD progresses to Stage 4 and Stage 5, symptoms … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

I volunteered as a living donor (my wife is on the kidney transplant list), but was turned down by the transplant team because I had breast cancer five (5) years ago. During my BC treatment I underwent chemotherapy and radiation treatments (I was diagnosed with invasive ductal carcinoma, Stage 1). However, I have been cancer-free for five years and am in good health. Why would I be turned down as a living donor?

The decision to accept someone as a kidney donor is dependent on the judgement and protocols established by the individual transplant centers.  There are no nationwide guidelines for accepting a kidney donor.  Hence, the decision to reject you as a … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Living Donation, Transplantation

My husband has hypertension not always controlled well with medication. He currently takes 200mg metoprolol and 40mg lisinopril daily. Control is extremely variable. Should be see a nephrologist to rule out renal hypertension?

His primary care physician (PCP) should be able to diagnose and treat his hypertension.  Nephrologist commonly see very resistant hypertension and consultation may be needed, but his PCP should be able to determine if consultation is necessary.  

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist

Dear sir, I am 24yr old studying medicine and type 2 diabetic for 3 years. Recently my urine microalbumin is 42mg/l at spot sample and my HgbA1c is 7.9 percent and my systolic bp is high 159/70. What is the risk of developing clinical proteinuria and what is prognosis of my this renal condition? I am taking only medications for diabetes.

I am unable to make a diagnosis or a prognosis without performing a complete history and physical examination.  As a diabetic, you should have very careful control of your blood pressure to less than 130/80 and you should have an … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects

I have a friend with severe pain in her back, left side. A CT scan showed a 2 cm cyst. She had an ultrasound and they diagnosed it as Indeterminant left renal lesion. She has had pain off an on for a few years. 2 years ago, this cyst was 1 mm. Her pain is very real and severe. At this time, they do not intend to do anything. Is there any other reason she would have this pain? She does have blood in her urine but according to the doctors, no infection. I am very worried about her and think there should be a next step.

A simple cyst on a kidney does not ordinarily cause pain.  I suggest that you consult with a urologist about further studies to be done on the lesion that has been identified on the left kidney.  I am a nephrologist … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Cysts, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments, Urological Issues

My son had a transplant in November 2016. We had 1 rejection episode. Since then his creatinine level has been 1.6. One of his scans said he had separation of the renal pelvis. Can you explain what this means? We are concerned because he still has pain below the incision scar.

I am unable to interpret a kidney scan without reviewing it myself.  I suggest that you ask for clarification of the scan from your son’s physicians.  A “separation of the renal pelvis” is not a specific term of disease, but … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Transplantation