Dear sir, I am 24yr old studying medicine and type 2 diabetic for 3 years. Recently my urine microalbumin is 42mg/l at spot sample and my HgbA1c is 7.9 percent and my systolic bp is high 159/70. What is the risk of developing clinical proteinuria and what is prognosis of my this renal condition? I am taking only medications for diabetes.

I am unable to make a diagnosis or a prognosis without performing a complete history and physical examination.  As a diabetic, you should have very careful control of your blood pressure to less than 130/80 and you should have an examination by your physician at least every year.  I recommend that you consult with your physician about control of your blood pressure and also better control of your diabetes.  You should also have blood and urine testing for kidney disease including a urine test for microalbumin to creatinine ratio.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.