Hello Dr., I have CKD, my egfr is about 51-59 and my creatinine is about 1.11. I want to take magnesium, as when I do, it makes me feel good. What type and dosage should I take? Should I take it in combination with calcium and D3?

I am unable to recommend medication without performing a complete history and physical examination. I suggest that you consult with your primary care physician about taking magnesium supplements.  Magnesium can be tolerated by most people but you should always check with your physician about any supplements that you are considering.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Herbal Supplements in Kidney Disease/Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.