I read that “creatinine clearance” is another good indicator of kidney function. I am 57 years old. Weight is 307 pounds. Creatinine level is 1.63. Can you tell me my creatinine clearance and what it indicates to me?

The creatinine clearance is another way to estimate kidney function.  It is based on the clearance of a metabolite of muscle called the creatine, that is then converted into creatinine and eliminated by the kidneys.  This can be done by performing a 24 hour urine collection or by using the estimating equation known as the Cockcroft Gault equation.  You can use this equation on our web site at:  https://www.kidney.org/professionals/KDOQI/gfr_calculatorCoc

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Serum Creatinine, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.