My doctor really doesn’t say anything but that I should watch for kidney disease. He said to cut down on desserts and no wine. I don’t drink but I guess the blood test shows something. I do drink Kombucha Tea. I have quit drinking that. My creatine 1.12, BUN 24, glucose 125, alt 45. I have to say my doctor said very little but he has caused me to worry as I am my husband’s caretaker. Can you tell me just how bad my kidneys are?

I do not identify any kidney disease based on the information that you provide.  You can go to our web site and calculate your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) in order to understand your current level of kidney function.  You should visit with your physician about your results.

You can estimate your eGFR at:  https://www.kidney.org/professionals/KDOQI/gfr_calculator

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.