My GFR level is 54. A urinalysis was performed and protein levels came back within normal range. Trying to drink more water causes me to have to go to the bathroom all day and between 3 – 4 times during the night. Should I see a nephrologist or urologist based on this since my GFR level indicates I am in Stage 3 Chronic Kidney Disease?

You may have early stage chronic kidney disease (CKD).  Most primary care physicians (PCP’s) are well capable of providing care for early stage CKD.  I do not usually advocate nephrology referral until your kidney disease progresses to Stage 4 or higher.  If your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) stays above 30 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared, then your PCP should be able to manage your health care until the CKD shows more progression.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.