Daily Archives: April 19, 2017

My son is 41, on PD since late Jan. He was born with posterior urethral valves, nephrectomy and nephrosomy at 3 months old, hooked the right side kidney back up at 9 mos. He was diagnosed Jan. 2016 with 5% kidney working, slow decline since. Can’t feel his feet, foot and leg pain, cannot walk well. Falls a lot. His docs say this shouldn’t be happening, but it is. His sister is waiting to test to be a donor asap. We read on the internet that it DOES happen! Is leg massage OK now, it makes him feel better. Is this reversible?

I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  Massage should not pose any problems for his kidney disease.  Your son may need to be evaluated by a neurologist to determine the cause of … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing

Hello! I am a 34 year old female. At my last physical my doctor informed me she wants to monitor my kidney functions more & wants me on a diet because my GFR labs were in 2015 or 14 (can’t remember which year she stated) were at 110. My next 6 month checkup my GFR was in the 80’s, my next 6 month checkup the 70’s and now my check up on 3/31/17 my GFR was 63. I do not have high blood pressure but at 5’2″ & 175 lbs I am overweight. I don’t have diabetes although it is in my family history. She plans on seeing me in 6 months as usual and I am dieting & exercising in the meantime, but should my doctor and/or myself be way more concerned with this & see someone about it? My ankles are swollen with pitting edema from the calf down year round without let up. This edema has been since I was 20 and only 124lbs. Any insight you can give me would be greatly appreciated! It seems that my kidneys are functioning at the rate of an elderly person & I am a single,divorced mother of my 3 beautiful children so I really want to stay on top of this.

You physician is doing the proper monitoring.  I would also suggest that you have urine testing for blood, protein and blood.  This should be part of your monitoring in addition to measurement of your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR).  You … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects

I have done ultrasound of abdomen. Report says. -My both kidneys are normal in shape, size, position and echo pattern. Corticomedullary demarcation is maintained. No mass lesion seen. Mild separation of right pelvicalyceal system noted.

I do not identify any kidney disease based on your ultrasound report.  I suggest that you consult with your physician to determine if there is any cause for concern.  

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects