I am concerned about my kidney function. I am a 56 years old, white male in seemingly good health. About three years ago the doctor measured my GFR at 93. A year ago, my GFR had dropped to 82. I also had a kidney stone removed at that time. My GFR is now at 83. I’m concerned that my creatine levels increased so abruptly. How concerned ought I be about this? Should I have more tests run? What should I do now? FYI: I am generally healthy, except for occasional bouts with constipation (especially on weekends and long holidays). All of my other serum levels are normal (see below). My doctor is tells me I’m healthy, but based on what I found here (looking up GFR), it looks like I have Stage 2 kidney disease. My diet is very similar to the DASH, except that my wife likes to cook with a little more salt than I wish. My weight is good (I’m 5’8″ and 135-145 lbs). Also, my GI doctor had me on Nexium for nearly 3 months for gastritis. Recent Serum levels: SODIUM 137 POTASSIUM 4.5 CHLORIDE 102 GLUCOSE 80 UREA NITROGEN 9 CREATININE 1.01

I do not identify any kidney disease based on the information that you present.  There is some variability to the estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) and the two levels that you mention are within the usual range of variability for normal kidney function. I suggest that you follow your doctor’s advice and perhaps be retested at a later date to see if your eGFR stays in this general range.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.