I had my transplant just under a year and a half ago after being on dialysis for roughly a year. Since transplant my kidney function has been steadily worsening to the point that now I am at 25% function which is where I was when I started dialysis. Two Biopsy have shown no signs of rejection but my most recent creatinine is 2.5 and my proteinuria is 3000. The journey has been very frustrating for me especially since my nephrologist seems to be just “throwing things up against a wall to see what sticks.” The only thing that seemed to improve my situation was being put on prednisone although my DSA showed no reason why that would be the case. Have you heard of any similar cases and what seemed to work for them?

Kidney transplantation is a very inexact science and can be very difficult to anticipate complications and treatments.  In most cases, kidney transplant biopsy should lead to a specific diagnosis of the transplant dysfunction.  In some cases, there can be a recurrence of the original kidney disease.  I can only suggest that you continue to consult with your transplant physician.  It will be important to know the nature of your original kidney disease.  You may want to discuss this with your transplant physician.

For more information on transplantation click here:

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Biopsy, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Transplantation, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.