Daily Archives: May 4, 2017

Have you looked into combining metformin and the HCG diet to help in maintaining the high levels of ketones in the ketogenic diet?

I am not familiar with the “HCG diet”.  As I understand the diet, you take injections of human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) and then follow a low calorie diet.  I would not be comfortable with using hormone injections to supplement a … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments

Hello. I have had an ultrasound and it came back abnormal. Duplex collection system? My doc ordered a cat scan and I am waiting on that to get done. My red blood cells are low and have been for years and my MVP is high. Have you ever had a problem like this? Should I be concerned?

A duplicated collecting system does not usually pose any problems.  This is likely something that you were born with.  I suggest that you wait and discuss the results with your physician.  I am not familiar with the medical term “MVP”. … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My sister has been doing dialysis for a little more than a month. The staff is continuously coming to me or my sister about doing dialysis at home. I keep telling them no and that it’s really not an option for us. My sister currently has a catheter because her veins won’t support any of the other options. She’s definitely not a transplant candidate. We already know the risks involved with the catheter. We as a family just don’t want the responsibility of having dialysis done at home. We just feel that it should be left up to the professionals. Do you have any suggestions?

I always remember that it is the patient who has the disease and not the family.  The family should be as supportive as they are able.  If there is a way for the patient to do home dialysis, this is … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

I am a 64 year old female and am in early moderate state PKD and because of my research on the internet I am confused as to what to eat as I see websites with conflicting information. I mentioned this to my doctor and he said that I can eat anything I want in moderation, which is a total contradiction to what I have read. When asked, he also said I don’t need a dietician. I believe that I do. What you you think doctor? Thank you for any information you could give me.

People with early Polycystic Kidney Disease (PCKD) should follow a low salt diet and maintain a healthy body weight.  This can be done by combining exercise with the appropriate amount of calories to maintain a healthy lifestyle.  I am a … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Polycystic Kidney Disease, Treatments

I have a 6mm and two 2mm stones in my left kidney with only mild left flank pain which comes and goes. I have had a CT scan which shows the stones. What is the best course of action when pain is mild and not constant? Are any of the Herbal remedies helpful at all?

If you have symptoms with kidney stones, the best course of action is to consult with your physician.  You may need referral to a urologist.  I am a nephrologist and do not deal with active stone disease.  This needs to … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

Hello sir. I am male and 37 years old. Weight is 55 Kg. I am athletic muscular. I do regular walking, jogging, karate exercises. Recently I had tests. My creatinine is 1.14 . I calculate eGFR online. It says my GFR is 69. Now, I just wanted to know, do I have kidney disease? Should I do more check up tests? because I don’t feel any pain in kidneys. Also my blood pressure and sugar level is normal.

I cannot make a diagnosis of chronic kidney disease (CKD) based on the information that you present.  You should also have urine testing for blood, protein or infection in the urine to determine if you could have CKD.  People who … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects