I am a 64 year old female and am in early moderate state PKD and because of my research on the internet I am confused as to what to eat as I see websites with conflicting information. I mentioned this to my doctor and he said that I can eat anything I want in moderation, which is a total contradiction to what I have read. When asked, he also said I don’t need a dietician. I believe that I do. What you you think doctor? Thank you for any information you could give me.

People with early Polycystic Kidney Disease (PCKD) should follow a low salt diet and maintain a healthy body weight.  This can be done by combining exercise with the appropriate amount of calories to maintain a healthy lifestyle.  I am a strong advocate for the DASH diet.  I believe that the DASH diet is appropriate for all people with early stage chronic kidney disease (CKD).  You can learn more about the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Polycystic Kidney Disease, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.