Daily Archives: May 8, 2017

I need to know the pros and cons of using the Prolia infusion twice a year while dealing with chronic kidney disease stage 3

Prolia injections are approved for patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  The most common side effect is a very low blood calcium and sometimes this can cause tetany (spasmodic muscle contractions).  I am not able to discuss specific pros and … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My dad is 88 years old and has been recently diagnosed with kidney disease. GFR is 26. Would a cortisone shot in his knee harm his kidneys?

A cortisone shot into the knee is commonly performed for degenerative arthritis of the knee.  Cortisone shots are generally safe for patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I commonly recommend cortisone shots rather than non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID’s) for my … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My husband has stage 4 ckd, We just found out few months ago. He only has one kidney functioning. Going on a special diet, and getting some exercise. How long before a patient has to think about dialysis? What is the usual life span for this Stage 4?

I am unable to provide a prognosis without performing a complete history and physical examination.  The best person to provide a prognosis is the nephrologist who has seen and examined your husband.  The decision to start dialysis is a decision … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My father is 60 years old. He has CKD problem last 2 years. We are continuously in touch of our family doctor, but his creatinine level getting increased slowly. Now his creatinine level is 5. So requesting you to kindly suggest us?

I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis based on the information that you provide.  Your father should be seeing a nephrologist for examination and recommendations about treatment of advanced kidney disease.  The nephrologist will evaluate your father, determine the … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

I am a very rare person who has sarcoidosis and I lost my kidneys due to cancer June 2012. My phosphorus levels are high at 12. This was the last. I had my parathyroid removed in 2015 and it helped for a little while but now it keeps creeping up and at first I was snacking without my binders but for the most part I take them. I have bone pain and calcium buildup on my shoulders. I’m 51 years old and I’m watching what I eat and try to stay away from high phosphorus foods. My question is how can I bring down my levels once they gotten this high? I’m on peritoneal dialysis.

If you are on peritoneal dialysis and have a high phosphorus, you should be taking a phosphate binder with each and every meal.  I suggest that you discuss this with the dietitian who is assigned to your by your dialysis … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions

Can a CKD patient have one banana per day? or is too much for a CKD patient to have?

If your blood potassium level is normal, one banana per day is safe.  If you have a high potassium in the blood, you should not eat any extra bananas.  You should find out what your blood potassium level is and … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions

My 88 year old mother has been recently diagnosed with stage III Kidney disease. Her potassium levels were found to be high. She’s already on warfarin to prevent clotting due to a genetic blood factor. The poor thing doesn’t know what to eat and is rapidly losing weight. Her urologist gave her a booklet which lists foods she can’t eat. Those foods coupled with the Vit K list of foods not to eat are leaving her with very little food choices. She’s not able to see a dietician for weeks. I’m afraid she’ll lose so much weight that her kidneys will fail. Can you help with a couple day menu of foods she can eat?

I am a strong advocate for the DASH diet.  The DASH diet will be the best thing for her chronic kidney disease (CKD).  Since she is taking warfarin as a blood thinner, it is important to eat consistently and avoid … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

Hi sir. I’m male. My age is 21 year. I have problem in my right kidney. My right kidney size is 4.91 and left size is 13cm and I have a stone in left kidney. I’m worried about my health. Tell me sir, my right kidney size is dangerous for me? Please tell me your advise what will I do now?

The problem that you pose is a urological problem and best evaluated and treated by a urologist.  I am a nephrologist and do not perform surgery.  A urologist is a surgeon and is the best person to evaluate your small … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing

Hello I actually have a couple of questions. Infected with hepatitis C from 13 months of age until SVR due to anti-viral therapy at 28 years. Asymptomatic the entire with virtually no detectable effects of the virus aside from active RNA. I have been told that the immune complexes formed by the body fighting the virus are at least partially removed by the kidneys. So my first question is: How accurate is that? My second question is: After 25+ years of this happening, what is the likelihood that there would be any amount glomerulonephritis present?

Hepatitis C can be associated with glomerulonephritis and chronic kidney disease (CKD).  It is true that immune complexes can be formed in patients with chronic hepatitis C and this can lead to kidney damage.  The only way to tell is … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Glomerulonephritis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My son, now 5 years old was diagnosed with Hydronephrosis in both kidneys before birth. He was monitored for 2 years and was released of urology and nephrologist but the past few weeks he’s showed high blood pressure, very metallic smelling hair and breath. He has been wetting his bed at night and cannot seem to stop sweating and drinking excessive water. Should I get a lab work up?

I suggest that you consult with your son’s pediatrician for an examination.  Laboratory testing may be needed but a good examination by his pediatrician will be important to make sure the proper tests are performed. For more information on children’s … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Bed-Wetting, Birth Defects/Urinary Tract Abnormalities, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Pediatric Issues, Pregnancy / Kids, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments