I am a Sri Lankan and my brother has CKD. He underwent a transplant in 2009 and now again his kidney has failed and doctors recommend another transplant. He is undergoing dialysis currently. I being his sister, tested to be his donor and I was a 100% HLA match. My 24 hour corrected creatinine clearance is 82.5ml/min/1.73m2. Serum creatinine is 0.8 mg/dl. My GFR is 38 in each kidney. However, the doctors rejected me to become his donor as my GFR was considered low. Please advise whether the low GFR is actually a concern as all my other reports are in the normal reference ranges. I am 34 and do not have high BP or diabetes. My brother is 37.

Each kidney transplant center determines who can and who cannot be a kidney donor.  There are no international guidelines on what estimated glomerular filtration (eGFR) is necessary to be a kidney donor.  You could ask to be evaluated by another kidney transplant center and seek a second opinion.  I am unable to offer an opinion without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest you seek a second opinion.

For more information on living donation click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.