I´m a female, living in Sweden and is 59 years old. I was diagnosed with renal pelvis TCC, PT2a, grade 3, 8 years ago. I had my left kidney removed and have gone for follow ups since then. When the cancer was discovered I was told that I had a 3 cm cyst in the right kidney. After that the cyst has grown to be 7.5 cm and I have had several infection in the kidney. I’m worried about the growing cyst and the infections in my only kidney and wanted to do something to prevent a acute situation. I took it up with a doctor who wanted me to go to a urologist at the hospital. I have now got the answer from the urologist at the hospital that they think its a normal kidney with no pathological problem. My question is- Is a single kidney with a 7.5 cm cyst in it consider to be a normal kidney? I was worried before and now I feel very worried with this answer.

The question that you ask is a urological question and best answered by a urologist, who is a surgeon. I am a nephrologist and do not have expertise in this area.  I suggest you continue to consult with the urologist.  If you are concerned, you could seek a second opinion, but a simple cyst in a kidney can be a normal finding, despite being 7.5 centimeters (cm) in size.  About 40% of patients develop cysts in their kidney as they age.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Cysts, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.