My ankles measure about the same every morning and by bedtime they are any where from 1/4 to 1/2 an inch larger. My swelling is below the ankles. I watch my salt intake, my weight and my diet. I am an 92 years of age and I am an African American I am finding myself getting slower by the day. Thank you for any help you can give me.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  Swelling in the ankles has many causes but most of the time this is related to venous and vascular disease in the legs.  I suggest that you discuss this with your physician.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.