My mother is 85 and in relative good health. She has been seeing things that are not there, mostly people that she does not know in her house. My sister passed away a year ago from kidney failure, which she had been on dialysis for 9 years. Someone told me that maybe if my mom had an issue with her kidneys, that might explain her seeing things that are not there. I’m not sure if we should be pointing that out to her doctor.

I suggest that you bring your concerns to the physician who is caring for your mother.  Hallucinations and delusions are not a common presentation for kidney disease.  I suggest that you take your mother to be examined by her physician and mention your concerns to him or her.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.