Hello! I am currently undergoing hemodialysis due to ESRD secondary to Polycystic Kidney Disease, and I have been diagnosed as having an infection which is MRSA. I’m receiving antibiotics via an IV line in my right forearm. My left arm has my A/V fistula which is about 2 1/4 yrs post op for creating the fistula. Since having the surgery, I have constantly been told to not let anyone use my left alarm for routine blood draw or to have my BP taken. Today, the Infectious Disease doctors informed me that the Vancomycin will be given after dialysis, or during the last hour, using the fistula as the access port for the medicine. I am very concerned that the medicine, Vancomycin, will negatively affect my fistula which I was told to guard as if it were a pile of gold. So, I hope you can help me, as I really do not want anything going thru my fistula, especially an antibiotic which I was told is pretty nasty stuff. Do you know of any studies or anything that has been written in reference to Vancomycin via A/V fistula for MRSA treatment? I have tried, unsuccessfully, to find anything written about the use of the fistula for antibiotic therapy.

Vancomycin is the most common antibiotic to be used to treat methicillin resistant Staph Aureus (MRSA).  It is an antibiotic that can be given through your dialysis needles at the end of dialysis so that it does not require another stick of the fistula.  Vancomycin is given at the end of dialysis and then stays in your blood to kill the bacteria until your next dialysis.  With the next dialysis, the Vancomycin level is made lower by the dialysis treatment and the drug must be administered again in order to maintain killing levels of Vancomycin in your blood.  I believe this is the best treatment and can be given at your dialysis center.  This would allow you to go home from the hospital and still have effective treatment for your MRSA infection.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Polycystic Kidney Disease, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.