My Nephrologist says if I had perfect kidneys then frequent urination throughout the day from drinking water would be a concern. But since I don’t have perfect kidneys my Nephrologist says frequent urination from drinking water during the day isn’t a concern. In fact, My Nephrologist says frequent urination is a good thing for me since I don’t have perfect kidneys. Do you agree?

Patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD) do have more frequent urination because of the inability to concentrate urine.  This is commonly associated with more water and fluid intake.  Hence, the statement of your nephrologist is correct.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.