Hi Dr. I was recently diagnosed with stage 3 kidney disease. My mother had it as well 20 or so years ago. She did in time end up on dialysis. With this being genetic, will I also end up on dialysis? Is that the normal path of the inherited disease?

There are many different kidney diseases that can be inherited including polycystic kidney disease, Alport’s syndrome, diabetes, and other forms of glomerulonephritis.  I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  I suggest that you discuss this with your physician. I am unable to provide a prognosis based on the information that you present.  With treatment, some forms of genetic kidney disease can be delayed.  Most forms cannot be cured at the present time.

 

This entry was posted in Alport Syndrome, Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Glomerulonephritis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Polycystic Kidney Disease, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.