I am 89 years of age with 46.8 GFR this past Monday at emergency room. Does this indicate I have kidney disease and could my constant extreme cramping in my legs, feet, arms, and hands cramping be related to kidney disease? Also is there anything I can do to relieve the cramping if related? I am so scared and just don’t know what to do.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  Your kidney disease is relatively modest and should not be causing symptoms at all with an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) of 47 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  For your age, this is relatively normal kidney function.

I suggest that you consult with your physician about your current concerns.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.