I had a kidney transplant 16 1/2 years ago. And I went to see the nephrologist today and my blood work shows gfr at 27. He says chronic kidney disease stage 4, but doesn’t seem to concerned. My deal is I’m tired all the time. Have no energy. When I sit down I fall asleep. My wife says I am sleeping about 16 hours out of 24. I have high blood pressure and the dr has added another medicine for that as well. Swelling of the ankles and legs. Bad diabetic. I am 62 yrs old. Do you have any suggestions?

Your diabetes is likely contributing to your symptoms.  Poorly controlled diabetes leads to nerve disease, muscle disease, heart disease and loss of vision.  The diabetes can also be damaging your transplanted kidney.  Having a transplanted kidney for 16 1/2 years is very good and means that this kidney has been doing well for a very long period of time.  I suggest that you discuss your diabetes and kidney transplant both with your primary care physician (PCP) and your transplant nephrologist.  You may need to work very hard on your diabetes in order to start feeling better.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Diabetes, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Transplantation. Bookmark the permalink.