I have some kidney failure and blood and protein in urine (IGA nephropathy). Now, I am getting treatment and drugs chart are shown below. 01st month 48mg methylprednisolone, 25mg Repace, 430mg Kalzana, 150mg Ranitidine. 02nd month 32mg methylprednisolone, 25mg Repace, 430mg Kalzana, 150mg Ranitidine. 03rd month-currently (from2017.05.29) 24mg methylprednisolone (one week), 16mg methylprednisolone (two weeks), 25mg Repace, 430mg Kalzana, 150mg Ranitidine. Doctor, please tell me: 1. Are my drugs chart correct or not? 2. What is the current situation of my illness? 3. Can I fully solve my problem? 4. What should I do in future?

IgA nephropathy (also known as Berger’s Disease) is a highly variable disease and does not have a consistent clinical course.  In most patients, it is associated with blood and protein in the urine.  The treatment that you mention with methylprednisolone is commonly recommended to slow or stall the disease.  I am unable to recommend treatment without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest that you continue to consult with your nephrologist and follow his or her advice.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, IgA Nephropathy/IgA Dominant Glomerulonephritis, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.