I just turned 60. Past 4 months I have gained 60 lbs, no change in diet, do not even have appetite. I have lost control of my bladder almost totally past three weeks. My legs and my whole body feels nothing but fluid filled. Three months ago all labs perfect. I am freaked out, registered nurse for 30 years. Is this kidney started up or possible complications from failed spinal surgery in 2012? I am at lost, my doctor says “Lose weight”, gee whiz, great advice. Any ideas? Thanks. My mom is stage 3b right now. She refuses dialysis and she is 86. Any thoughts would be great.

I am unable to provide a specific diagnosis without performing a complete history and physical examination.  Your symptoms sound more like neurological disease than kidney disease.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.