I was just told I have stage 4 kidney failure but when I was at the hospital I was dehydrated, so my question is can being dehydrated cause the counts being off showing that I have kidney failure?

In order to diagnose chronic kidney disease (CKD), the tests for your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) must be abnormal for at least 3 months.  This is necessary in order to exclude acute kidney injury and dehydration as a cause of the abnormal kidney function tests.  Hence, if you recover from your dehydration, you also may recover from your kidney disease.  If followup testing after 3 months still shows abnormalities, then CKD may be present.  You should also have urine testing for blood, protein, and infection.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.