My GFR keeps changing from GFR 27 to 32 then from GFR 29 to 34. I was getting ready to gain access point but now my GFR puts me back in stage 3. Please tell me why my GFR keeps changing and wilL I stay in Stage 3?

The estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) is just an estimate and is not an exact number.  The laboratory testing does have some variability and will tend to vary from day to day.  The numbers that you quote are very similar to each other and suggest that your eGFR is in the range of 30 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  This would be at the very low range of Stage 3 and high range Stage 4 chronic kidney disease (CKD).

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.